Content deleted Content added
No edit summary |
No edit summary |
||
Line 34:
[[Viking]] raiders first established a settlement at Waterford in 853. Waterford and all the other longphorts were vacated in 902, the Vikings having being driven out by the native Irish. The Vikings re-established themselves in Ireland at Waterford in 914 and built what would be Ireland's first city. A list of the city's rulers from this date to the mayors of the present day can be found in [[Rulers of Waterford]].
In 1137, [[Diarmuid MacMorrough]], king of Leinster, failed in an attempt to take Waterford. He returned in 1170 with Norman
Throughout the medieval period, Waterford was Ireland's second city after Dublin. In the [[15th century]] Waterford repelled two pretenders to the English throne: [[Lambert Simnel]] and [[Perkin Warbeck]]. As a result, King [[Henry VII of England|Henry VII]] gave the city its motto: ''Urbs Intacta Manet Waterfordia (Waterford remains the untaken city)''.
Line 46:
==Places of Interest==
The old city of Waterford consists of various cultural quarters. The oldest is what has been referred to as the
In the 15th century, the city was enlarged with the building of an outer wall on the west side. Today Waterford retains more of its city walls than any other city in [[Ireland]] with the exception of [[Derry]] (in [[Northern Ireland]]), whose walls were built much later. Tours of Waterford's city walls are conducted daily.
The Quay, once termed by historian Mark Girouard 'the noblest quay in Europe', is a mile long from Grattan Quay to Adelphi Quay, though Adelphi Quay is now a residential area. It is still a major focal point for Waterford, commercially and socially, and the face that Waterford presents to those
Ballybricken, in the west, just outside the city walls, is thought to have been Waterford's Irishtown, a type of settlement that often formed outside Irish cities to house the Vikings and Irish that had been expelled during the Norman conquest of Ireland. Ballybricken is an inner city neighbourhood with a long tradition, centred around Ballybricken hill, which was a large, open market-square. Today it has been converted into a green, civic space, but the Bull Post, where livestock was once bought and sold, still stands as a remnant of the hill's past.
|