Cleveland Bridge: Difference between revisions

Content deleted Content added
m Changed category to somerset
m History: Dashes. Disambiguated Georgian. Cap.
Line 9:
 
==History==
'''Cleveland Bridge''' was built in 1826 by W Hazledine (contractor) on the site of a [[Ancient Rome|Roman]] ferry crossing. Named for the 3rd [[Duke of Cleveland]], it spanned the [[River Avon]] at [[Bathwick]], and enabled further development of [[Georgian architecture|Georgian]] Bath to take place on the south side of the river. It was designed by architect [[Henry Goodridge]] to take the traffic of his day, horse drawn vehicles and pedestrians, using the warm golden local Bath Stone and an elegant cast iron arched span.
 
A toll house was required to charge users of the bridge for the privilege of crossing. Rather than building merely one, Goodridge decided to install four -— one on each corner -— in order to maintain the absoloute [[symmetry]] of his elegant [[neoclassicism|neoclassical]] design. He provided each of these lodges with columns fronting onto the bridge, giving them the appearance of small ancient temples. This is what still gives the bridge its unique appearance today. Only one of the four (Number 1 next to St John's Road) was actually used as a toll house and the rest were always let to private tenants as small dwellings or shops.
 
The bridge was constructed using funds subscribed by local wealthy citizens to a specially formed Bathwick Bridge Company with a view to investors making a [[Return on Investment]] through the toll charges. In order to establish the bridge and the company an [[Act of Parliament]] was required and, in a move which would later prove the undoing of the company, the level of the toll was fixed at one penny. Unfortunately for the shareholders of the Bathwick Bridge Company, [[inflation]] kicked in during the [[19th Centurycentury]] and, by the early [[20th Centurycentury]], a one penny toll was not worth much. By the [[1920s]], the revenues from tolls no longer covered the costs of operating and maintaining it.
 
The Bath Corporation Act of 1925 allowed the city council to take over the bridge from the now bankrupt Bathwick Bridge Company. To much celebration, it was freed it from tolls for all traffic on 20th June 1927 and extensively restored during 1928-–9. '''Cleveland Bridge''' is still free to use today, although the next bridge upstream at [[Bathampton]] is one of the UK's few remaining privately owned toll bridges.
 
After the [[secondWorld worldWar warII|Second World War]], a shortage of cash and materials and a general disinterest in Bath's architecture meant that the fabric of the bridge was neglected. By the [[1980s]], three out of four of the lodges were derelict and unfit for human habitation. Concerned at the neglect of this unique structure by its owners, [[Bath and North East Somerset]] Council, a group of local individuals formed a charity (the [http://www.bhbt.org/ Bath Historical Buildings Trust]) to take a very long lease on three of the lodges and to restore them so that they could once again become homes for people. This work is almost complete.
 
==Capacity==